Registration is closed for this event

In partnership with the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition at Yale University, the Institute awards an annual prize of $25,000 for an outstanding non-fiction book in English published on the subject of slavery, resistance, and/or abolition.  

The 2019 winner of the prize is Amy Murrell Taylor for Embattled Freedom: Journeys through the Civil War’s Slave Refugee Camps (University of North Carolina Press). Taylor holds the Theodore A. Hallam Professorship in History at the University of Kentucky. The award will be presented to Taylor at a celebration in New York City on February 13, 2020. The celebration also will present a Special Achievement Award to Julius S. Scott’s The Common Wind: Afro-American Currents in the Age of the Haitian Revolution (Verso). Scott is Lecturer of Afroamerican and African Studies, Emeritus, at the University of Michigan.

February 13th, 2020 6:00 PM   through   8:00 PM
Pace University - Schimmel Theater
3 Spruce Street
New York, NY 10038
United States
Phone: 646-366-9666  ext. 110