Our Collection

At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. More than 65,000 items cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. Explore primary sources, visit exhibitions in person or online, or bring your class on a field trip.

Harris & Ewing (fl. 1937) [Roosevelt and his cabinet]

Gilder Lehrman Collection #: GLC03259 Author/Creator: Harris & Ewing (fl. 1937) Place Written: Washington, D.C. Type: Photograph signed Date: 1936 ca. Pagination: 1

Summary of Content: Pictured sitting at a board table. Signed by Franklin D. Roosevelt, President; John N. Gardner, Vice President; Homer Cummings, Attorney General; James A. Farley , Postmaster General; Cordell Hull, Secretary of State; Henry H. Woodring, Secretary of War; Harold L. Ickes, Secretary of the Interior; Daniel C. Roper, Secretary of Commerce; Frances Perkins, Secretary of Labor; Henry A. Wallace, Secretary of Agriculture; Claude Swanson, Secretary of the Navy; and Henry Morgenthau, Jr., Secretary of the Treasury.

People: Harris & Ewing.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.
Gardner, John N., fl. 1936.
Cummings, Homer Stillé, 1870-1956.
Farley, James Aloysius, 1888-.
Hull, Cordell, 1871-1955.
Woodring, Henry H., fl. 1936.
Ickes, Harold LeClair, 1874-1952.
Roper, Daniel C. (Daniel Calhoun), 1867-1943.
Perkins, Francis, fl. 1936.
Wallace, Henry Agard, 1888-1965.
Swanson, Claude Augustus, 1862-1939.
Morgenthau, Henry, 1856-1946.

Historical Era: Great Depression and World War II, 1929-1945

Keywords/Subjects: President Government and Civics, Vice President, Post Office, Navy

Sub Era: The Great Depression The New Deal