George Washington Prize

Image for landing page: 

The George Washington Prize is a $50,000 award co-sponsored by Washington College, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, and George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Founded in 2005, the prize recognizes the year’s best works on the nation’s founding era, especially those that have the potential to advance broad public understanding of American history. For more information on the George Washington Prize, click here.

Submissions should be sent to:
George Washington Prize
101 South Water Street
Chestertown MD 21620

George Washington Prize Winners

Kevin J. Hayes
George Washington: A Life in Books (Oxford, 2017)

Nathaniel Philbrick
Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution (Viking, 2016)

Flora Fraser
The Washingtons: George and Martha, "Joind by Friendship, Crownd by Love" (Knopf, 2015)

Nick Bunker
An Empire on the Edge: How Britain Came to Fight America (Knopf, 2014)

Special Acheivement Award
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Hamilton: An American Musical

Andrew Jackson O’Shaughnessy

The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution, and the Fate of the Empire (Yale, 2013)

Stephen Brumwell

George Washington: Gentleman Warrior (Quercus, 2012)

Maya Jasanoff

Liberty’s Exiles: American Loyalists in the Revolutionary World (Knopf, 2011)

Pauline Maier

Ratification: The People Debate the Constitution, 1787–1788 (Simon & Schuster, 2010)

Richard Beeman

Plain, Honest Men: The Making of the American Constitution (Random House, 2009)

Annette Gordon-Reed

The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family (W.W. Norton and Company, 2008)

Marcus Rediker
The Slave Ship: A Human History (Viking, 2007)

Charles Rappleye
Sons of Providence: The Brown Brothers, the Slave Trade, and the American Revolution (Simon & Schuster, 2006)

Stacy Schiff
A Great Improvisation: Franklin, France, and the Birth of America (Henry Holt and Company, 2005)

Ron Chernow
Alexander Hamilton (Penguin Press, 2004)