George Washington Book Prize

The George Washington Book Prize is a $50,000 award co-sponsored by Washington College, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, and George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Founded in 2005, the prize recognizes the year’s best books on the nation’s founding era, especially those that have the potential to advance broad public understanding of American history. For more information on the George Washington Book Prize click here.

Submissions should be sent to:

George Washington Book Prize
101 South Water Street
Chestertown MD 21620

George Washington Book Prize Winners

Nick Bunker
An Empire on the Edge: How Britain Came to Fight America (Knopf, 2014)

Andrew Jackson O’Shaughnessy

The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution, and the Fate of the Empire (Yale, 2013)

Stephen Brumwell
George Washington: Gentleman Warrior (Quercus, 2012) 

Maya Jasanoff
Libertys Exiles: American Loyalists in the Revolutionary World (Knopf, 2011)

Pauline Maier
Ratification: The People Debate the Constitution, 17871788 (Simon & Schuster, 2010)

Richard Beeman
Plain, Honest Men: The Making of the American Constitution (Random House, 2009)

Annette Gordon-Reed
The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family (W.W. Norton and Company, 2008)

Marcus Rediker
The Slave Ship: A Human History (Viking, 2007)

Charles Rappleye
Sons of Providence: The Brown Brothers, the Slave Trade, and the American Revolution (Simon & Schuster, 2006)

Stacy Schiff
A Great Improvisation: Franklin, France, and the Birth of America (Henry Holt and Company, 2005)

Ron Chernow
Alexander Hamilton (Penguin Press, 2004)

Add comment

Login or register to post comments