# [The Ordinance of Secession for the State of South Carolina], 1861

#### Image

State of South Carolina. of the Reple of the Spent of South Conclina, begun and holde as bolism bia on the Sevenseenth day of December in the year of our Lord ine d wight hundred and Sichy and Hones consequend, by adjournment & Charles the and there by divers adjourn means to the Sweetheth day of December in the In Under an in the desclor the Union between the face of fourth bardena und other States institut with his under the congrast on tild Constitution of the I'm. Wet States of America" on careinend, the deston and undain, and it is hereby declared and ordanied. That the Indinance adopted the trople of the So. is south Contina on Comment We the light of the de a south has come manuage or course an manual of the their and sound and replay regard, whereby me be source of the there a by some benearies on the twenty that day of May in the grand of the transal Assembly of this star, rainfying animaments of the said binsterion are said that if the una new series full and also all their and parse of the transal Assembly of this star, rainfying animaments of the said binsterion are said to prove the time the driven new marked become the the market and other Stars, and or the name of the the ind Stars of the said beneficial. by repeated ; and that the driven new petresting between the Done at Charleston, the heintuth day of December, in the year of our Lind on marsand cight red and Sicty D. J. Jamisons Deligate from Bo on de sons Tresidents of the torne tion Mances South Barlan Mestery & Ogand A.C.M. Sunscient Marthe Harlie D W. M. Spratt 8 14 Vrarin Im to hele tos Davil Pope Edward Son 1.4 Stron Javes Parson Finall # 11 Bither O Brown B. H. Rut her gathem William 2 fo Daniel Du By Edward Melon was Marcai 2 James Tamptaing Al, M God A Maryok The cir I Po. fret Cathe John P. Kinar mes, 6, Imyly Caro middleton Robert Moonnan 9 Inourden John Fred well Joseph Caldwell Giell Sentrook Lons Primeon the John Janiticas There & Worth Glover R. J. a av and Laurence M Hett E. M. Seabier R. Buchanda Fosta B. B. Franktin Me Sounda Rowe Barton Linn & Mannamaker Wm Hunter Star & Sector Binjamin Balle Elias B Sector Anaren F. Luis Rit A. Thompson. Melenne C. Grishan hson 1 gel Jos & Senkins 2 Apain angon heve Gian de Phodes My mu H Ichin Marwell man atther Pal Ino E Frampton W Fugerson Hertse Humas Reese En cher Miles Vious ME de Sanfsure Robert & Pan Marken hRing nells 1 Jun Contration James. H. Adams Marcy Gregg J. P. Robenson 70 Ephraim MaClaria He M Alex M. Brian Bill fame ohin E. J. P. Bellinge. Merrick & Care. Batts Peter At Key Daniel Shing Paul Quatter Milson John M. Timmony W. 13. Powelly David Cappelely Attest Berg. F. arthurs .

South Carolina Convention, [The Ordinance of Secession for the State of South Carolina], 1861. (The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, GLC00395)

### Transcript

#### The State of South Carolina

At a Convention of the People of the State of South Carolina, begun and holden at Columbia, on the Seventeenth day of December on the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty and then continued by adjournment to Charleston and there by divers adjournments to the Twentieth day of December in the same year -

An Ordinance. To dissolve the Union between the State of South Carolina and other States united with her under the compact entitled "The Constitution of the United States of America."

We, the People of the Sate of South Carolina in convention assembled, do declare and ordain, and it is hereby declared and ordained, That the Ordinance adopted by us in Convention, on the twenty-third day of May, in the year of our Lord One thousand Seven hundred and eighty-eight, whereby the Constitution of the United States of America was ratified, and also all Acts and parts of Acts of the General Assembly of the State, ratifying amendments of the said Constitution hereby repealed; and that the union now subsisting between South Carolina and other States, under the name of the "United States of America", is hereby dissolved -Done at Charleston, the twentieth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty.

D. J. Jamison - Delegate from Bornwand President of the Convention

Thos Chrles Perrin Francis Hugh Wardlaw Wesley D. Evans R Y Barnacle Edward Noble R.G.M. Dummant John W. Harllee Jos. Dan'l Pope J.S. Wilson James Parson Carroll AW Bethia C. P. Brown Thos Thomson Wm Grigg E.W. Goodwin John McShingler David Lewis Wardern Andrew J. Hammond William D Johnson Daniel Dupre John Alfred Calhoun James Tampking Alex McLeod A Mazyek John Izard Middleton James. C. Smyly John T. Kinard William Cain Benjamin E. Sessions John Hugh, Heans Robert Moonman P.G Snowden J. N. Whitner William [text loss] Lyles Joseph Caldwell Geo. W. Seabrook James L Orr Henry Campbell Davis Simeon Fair John Jenkins J. P. Reed Jno. Buchanon Thomas Worth Glover R.J. Lavant R N. Simpson James C. Fungan Laurence M Keitt E.M. Seabrook Benjamin Franston Mantone P.E. Duncan Donald Rowe Barton John. J. Wannamaker Lewis Malone Ayer, jr W. K. Linsay Wm Hunter Elias D Seolt W. Vernnean Finley James Harrison Andrew F Luis Jos E Jenkins JJ Bralham W.H. Campbell Robt A. Thompson Langdon Cheves Benj. W. Lawton T. J. Withen William J. Grisham George Rhodes [illegible] James Chismeth John Maxwell AG Mahalh Thomas W Moore Joseph Breward Kepshalb Jno. E Frampton Wm Porcher Miles

## [The Ordinance of Secession for the State of South Carolina], 1861

Richard Woods Thos W Bealy W Ferguson Hutson Wm Porcher Miles A.Q. Dumount Wm J.. Ellis WJ de Sanssure John Townsend John A. Inglis R L Crawford. William Hopkins Robert N. Gourden Henry McIver W.G.C Luther James J. Adams A.W. Conwar Stephen Jackson D.R. Robinson Maxcy Gregg Theodore D Wagner W Pinkney Kingar. H C Young John H Kinsler R. Barnard Rhutt D. P. Bonnum H W Garlington Ephraim McCland CG Memminger John P. Richardson John B. [illegible] Alex H. Brown Gabriel Manigault John Lillanning WD Walls E. J. P. Bellinger John Julius Paugh Smith John J. Ingram Tno,,s. Wier Merrick E.Cario Isaac W. Hayne Edgar W. Charles H.J. laughman EA Hindermom Jn. J. Knour Judus A Dayan John C Geiger Peter Stokes Richd d Trenbie