Board of Trustees and Officers

Board of Trustees

Richard Gilder
Lewis E. Lehrman

James G. Basker
Robert Daum
Richard Edelman
Daniel P. Jordan
David McCullough
John L. Nau, III
Robert H. Niehaus
Shaiza Rizavi


James G. Basker

Executive Director
Lesley S. Herrmann

Advisory Board

Joyce O. Appleby, Professor of History Emerita
University of California, Los Angeles

Edward L. Ayers, President
University of Richmond

Thomas H. Bender, University Professor of the Humanities
New York University

Carol Berkin, Presidential Professor of History Emerita
Baruch College and The Graduate Center
City University of New York

Judy Roth Berkowitz, Trustee
Rockefeller University

Ira Berlin, Distinguished University Professor
University of Maryland

Lewis W. Bernard, Chairman and Founder
Classroom, Inc.

Victoria Bjorklund, Partner
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

David W. Blight, Class of 1954 Professor of American History and Director, Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Yale University

Gabor S. Boritt, Robert C. Fluhrer Professor of Civil War Studies Emeritus
Gettysburg College

Richard Brookhiser, Senior Editor
The National Review

Christopher L. Brown, Professor of History
Columbia University

Kenneth L. Burns, Filmmaker

Ric Burns, Filmmaker

Andrew Carroll, Founder and Director
The Legacy Project

David Brion Davis, Sterling Professor of History Emeritus and
Director Emeritus, Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Yale University

Andrew Delbanco, Julian Clarence Levi Professor Chair in the Humanities
Columbia University

Richard Ekman, President
Council of Independent Colleges

Joseph J. Ellis, Ford Foundation Professor of History
Mount Holyoke College

Drew Gilpin Faust, President
Harvard University

David Hackett Fischer, University Professor and Earl Warren Professor of History
Brandeis University

Seymour Fliegel, President and Gilder Senior Fellow 
Center for Educational Innovation-Public Education Association

Eric Foner, DeWitt Clinton Professor of History
Columbia University

Ellen V. Futter, President
American Museum of Natural History

Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and Director, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research
Harvard University

S. Parker Gilbert, Chairman Emeritus
Morgan Stanley Group

Allen C. Guelzo, Henry R. Luce Professor of Civil War Era Studies
Gettysburg College

Roger Hertog, President
The Hertog Foundation

James O. Horton, Benjamin Banneker Professor Emeritus of American Studies and History
George Washington University

Kenneth T. Jackson, Jacques Barzun Professor in History and the Social Sciences
Columbia University

David M. Kennedy, Donald J. McLachlan Professor of American History Emeritus
Stanford University

Roger Kimball, Co-Editor and Co-Publisher
The New Criterion

Thomas LeBien, Vice President and Senior Editor
Simon & Schuster

Richard C. Levin, President
Yale University

Patricia Nelson Limerick, Professor of History, University of Colorado, Boulder, and Faculty Director and Chair of the Board
Center of the American West

Joseph C. McNay, Chairman
Essex Investment Management Company

James M. McPherson, George Henry Davis ’86 Professor of American History Emeritus
Princeton University

Steven Mintz, Director, Graduate School of Arts & Sciences Teaching Center
Columbia University

Russell P. Pennoyer, Partner
Benedetto Gartland & Company

Clement A. Price, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor of History and Director, Institute on Ethnicity, Culture, and the Modern Experience
Rutgers University

Diane Ravitch, Research Faculty
New York University

Elihu Rose, Vice Chairman, Rose Associates Inc., and Adjunct Professor of Military History
Columbia University

Michael Serber, Founding Principal
Academy of American Studies

Richard White, Margaret Byrne Professor of American History
Stanford University

Gordon S. Wood, Alva O. Way University Professor Emeritus
Brown University

Add comment

Login or register to post comments