Gilder Lehrman Institute Celebrates 20 Years of the National History Teacher of the Year; State History Teachers of the Year Named

New York, NY, August 1, 2023— The Gilder Lehrman Institute is delighted to announce the 2023 State History Teachers of the Year.

Inaugurated in 2004 and now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, the History Teacher of the Year award highlights the crucial importance of history education by honoring exceptional American history teachers from elementary school through high school. The award honors one K–12 teacher from each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools, and US Territories.

In addition to a $1,000 honorarium, each History Teacher of the Year receives a core archive of American history books and Gilder Lehrman educational materials and recognition at a local ceremony in their honor, and becomes one of 53 finalists for the National History Teacher of the Year award.

The winner of this year’s National History Teacher of the Year Award will be announced in fall 2023 and celebrated at a ceremony in New York City. This year’s ceremony will feature Peabody and Emmy Award-winning ABC News Senior National Affairs Correspondent Deborah Roberts as its presenter. Roberts, a contributing anchor for 20/20, was inducted into the Broadcasting and Cable Hall of Fame in May. She is also the author of the New York Times recent bestselling book, Lessons Learned and Cherished: The Teacher Who Changed My Life.

Past presenters of the award include the Honorable Sandra Day O’Connor, Good Morning America’s Robin Roberts, First Lady Laura Bush, former US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, and former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

“Knowledgeable and impassioned teachers bring our country’s history to life for students, allowing them to understand that engaging with history is about more than a series of facts,” said James G. Basker, president of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. “Teachers are the lifeblood of our students’ education, and these are the best of the best.”

As the Gilder Lehrman Institute celebrates twenty years of National History Teachers of the Year, we look to this year’s state winners as part of a tradition of elevating history teachers across the nation.

Looking back on the effect of being named 2019 District of Columbia History Teacher of the Year and subsequently 2019 National History Teacher of the Year, Alysha Butler said, “Winning the GLI National History Teacher of the Year award has helped me form connections with institutions and organizations far beyond my immediate professional and geographic scope that I have not been able to establish on my own in my twenty years of teaching.”

Karalee Nakatsuka, 2019 California History Teacher of the Year, reported that “among many opportunities, this recognition provided me the chance to write curriculum for the ground-breaking PBS Asian Americans miniseries.”

2010 National and Kansas History Teacher of the Year Nathan McAlister added,  “I look back over the past ten years in awe of all that I have been privileged to experience—whether it was a private tour of the US Supreme Court, leading history workshops and seminars around the country, or simply being asked for my opinion as a history education authority.”

Nominations for the 2024 History Teacher of the Year awards are now open. Students, parents, educators, and supervisors may nominate K–12 teachers for the award at

About the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History was founded in 1994 by Richard Gilder and Lewis E. Lehrman, visionaries and lifelong supporters of American history education. The Institute is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to K–12 history education while also serving the general public. Its mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is supported through the generosity of individuals, corporations, and foundations. The Institute’s programs have been recognized by awards from the White House, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Organization of American Historians, the Council of Independent Colleges, and the National Daughters of the American Revolution. Visit to learn more.

Josh Landon, Director of Marketing and Communications
(646) 366-9666, ext. 137