Our Collection

At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. More than 70,000 items cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. Explore primary sources, visit exhibitions in person or online, or bring your class on a field trip.

Avery, John (1739-1806) [Continental Congress appointments for Massachusetts]

High-resolution images are available to schools and libraries via subscription to American History, 1493-1943. Check to see if your school or library already has a subscription. Or click here for more information. You may also order a pdf of the image from us here.

Gilder Lehrman Collection #: GLC00436 Author/Creator: Avery, John (1739-1806) Place Written: Boston, Massachusetts Type: Document signed Date: 4 December 1777 Pagination: 1 p. : docket ; 24.5 x 19 cm

Document attested to by Massachusetts Secretary of State Avery. Announces the men chosen as delegates to the Continental Congress from Massachusetts for the following year. Lists John Hancock, John Adams, Samuel Adams, Robert Treat Paine, Elbridge Gerry, Francis Dana, and James Lovell (the first five on this list signed the Declaration of Independence).

Order a CopyCitation Guidelines for Online Resources