Announcing the 2023 National History Teacher of the Year Finalists

2023 National History Teacher of the Year finalists

The Gilder Lehrman Institute is delighted to announce the ten finalists for the National History Teacher of the Year Award for 2023:

  • Matthew Fulford of East High School in Denver, Colorado
  • Karen Boyea of Greenwich High School in Greenwich, Connecticut
  • Tyrone Williams Jr. of Oak Park River Forest High School in Oak Park, Illinois
  • Rachel Swearengin of Manchester Park Elementary School in Lenexa, Kansas
  • Jessica Lander of Lowell High School in Lowell, Massachusetts
  • Matthew Vriesman of East Kentwood High School in Kentwood, Michigan
  • Andrew Pyszka of Goffstown High School-SAU #19 in Goffstown, New Hampshire
  • Marilyn Orseno of North Royalton High School in North Royalton, Ohio
  • Christine Costa of Tiverton Middle School in Tiverton, Rhode Island
  • Craig Blackman of Indian River High School in Chesapeake, Virginia

Since 2004, 1013 exemplary American history teachers from elementary, middle, and high schools in all fifty states, Department of Defense schools, Washington DC, and US territories have been named State History Teacher of the Year. Many have gone on to work with the Institute, some as master teachers for programs such as Teacher Seminars and History School.

The History Teacher of the Year Award highlights the crucial importance of history education by honoring exceptional American history teachers from elementary school through high school.

The 2023 National History Teacher of the Year will be announced this fall and will be honored at a ceremony in New York City.