National Book Prizes

The Institute co-sponsors the Lincoln, George Washington, Military History, and Frederick Douglass Book Prizes. Each recognizes the best book of the year in its field. A jury of leading scholars evaluates the entries and presents the top choices to the prize’s board for final selection. The winner is honored at an award ceremony providing an opportunity for the public, including teachers and students, to hear the author speak.