George Washington Prize

The George Washington Prize is a $50,000 award co-sponsored by Washington College, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, and George Washington’s Mount Vernon. Founded in 2005, the prize recognizes the year’s best works on the nation’s founding era, especially those that have the potential to advance broad public understanding of American history.

The 2023 prizewinner is Maurizio Valsania for First Among Men: George Washington and the Myth of American Masculinity (Johns Hopkins University Press). He was honored at a ceremony held at the Union Club in New York City on September 21, 2023. The event also honored the three other finalists for the award: Mary Sarah Bilder, Fred Kaplan, and Stacy Schiff, who won the 2006 prize.



Submissions for the 2025 George Washington Prize must have a date of first publication between January 1, 2024, and December 31, 2024.

Deadline for submission is December 31, 2024.

Please submit five copies of the book plus author and editor contact information to:

George Washington Prize
Fred W. Smith National Library
George Washington’s Mount Vernon
3600 Mount Vernon Memorial Highway
Mount Vernon, VA 22121

For more information on the George Washington Prize, contact:

Stephen McLeod, Director of Library Programs
(703) 799-8686

George Washington Prize Winners

Maurizio Valsania
First Among Men: George Washington and the Myth of American Masculinity (Johns Hopkins University Press)

Bruce A. Ragsdale
Washington at the Plow: The Founding Farmer and the Question of Slavery (The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press)

Mary Beth Norton
1774: The Long Year of Revolution (Knopf)

Rick Atkinson 
The British Are Coming: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775–1777 (Henry Holt)

Colin G. Calloway 
The Indian World of George Washington (Oxford University Press)

Kevin J. Hayes
George Washington: A Life in Books (Oxford University Press)

Nathaniel Philbrick
Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution (Viking)

Flora Fraser
The Washingtons: George and Martha, “Join’d by Friendship, Crown’d by Love” (Knopf)

Nick Bunker
An Empire on the Edge: How Britain Came to Fight America (Knopf)

Special Award
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Hamilton: An American Musical

Andrew Jackson O’Shaughnessy
The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution, and the Fate of the Empire (Yale University Press)

Stephen Brumwell
George Washington: Gentleman Warrior (Quercus)

Maya Jasanoff
Liberty’s Exiles: American Loyalists in the Revolutionary World (Knopf)

Pauline Maier
Ratification: The People Debate the Constitution, 1787–1788 (Simon & Schuster)

Richard Beeman
Plain, Honest Men: The Making of the American Constitution (Random House)

Annette Gordon-Reed
The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family (W.W. Norton)

Marcus Rediker
The Slave Ship: A Human History (Viking)

Charles Rappleye
Sons of Providence: The Brown Brothers, the Slave Trade, and the American Revolution (Simon & Schuster)

Stacy Schiff
A Great Improvisation: Franklin, France, and the Birth of America (Henry Holt and Company)

Ron Chernow
Alexander Hamilton (Penguin Press)

Visit the George Washington Prize Winners list on to purchase any of these books. We receive an affiliate commission from every purchase through the link provided. Thank you for supporting our programs!