Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History

The Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History at the New-York Historical Society is a $50,000 prize co-sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and the New-York Historical Society. Each year the award recognizes the best book on military history in the English-speaking world distinguished by its scholarship, its contribution to the literature, and its appeal to both a general and an academic audience.

The 2020 prizewinner is Alexander Mikaberidze for The Napoleonic Wars: A Global History (Oxford University Press).

An online award ceremony celebrating the winner and the shortlisted authors took place on November 4, 2021, hosted by the New-York Historical Society. Video from the event, featuring a 30-minute conversation between Andrew Roberts, chair of the prize committee, and Alexander Mikaberidze, is below.


Entries for the 2021 prize are no longer being accepted. Books copyrighted in 2022 must be submitted for consideration by December 1, 2022.

To nominate books, please send an inquiry by mail or email to:

Daniela Muhling
Book Prize Manager
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
49 West 45th Street, 2nd Floor
New York NY 10036

Please do not send books without first receiving a response to your inquiry.



Alexander Mikaberidze, The Napoleonic Wars: A Global History (Oxford University Press)


John C. McManus, Fire and Fortitude: The US Army in the Pacific War, 1941–1943 (Dutton-Penguin)


Andrew Lambert, Seapower States: Maritime Culture, Continental Empires and the Conflict That Made the Modern World (Yale University Press)


Cathal Nolan, The Allure of Battle: A History of How Wars Have Been Won and Lost (Oxford University Press)


Peter Cozzens, The Earth Is Weeping: The Epic Story of the Indian Wars for the American West (Knopf)

Prior to 2016, the prize was known as the Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize for Military History, and was awarded to the following:


David L. Preston, Braddock’s Defeat: The Battle of the Monongahela and the Road to Revolution (Oxford)


Alexander Watson, Ring of Steel: Germany and Austria-Hungary at War, 1914–1918 (Basic)


Allen C. Guelzo, Gettysburg: The Last Invasion (Knopf)


Visit the Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History Winners list on to purchase any of these books. We receive an affiliate commission from every purchase made through the link provided. Thank you for supporting our programs!