Our Collection

At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. More than 75,000 items cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. Explore primary sources, visit exhibitions in person or online, or bring your class on a field trip.

Nicola, Lewis (1717-1807) to Henry Knox

High-resolution images are available to schools and libraries via subscription to American History, 1493-1943. Check to see if your school or library already has a subscription. Or click here for more information. You may also order a pdf of the image from us here.

Gilder Lehrman Collection #: GLC02437.01674 Author/Creator: Nicola, Lewis (1717-1807) Place Written: Fishkill, New York Type: Autograph letter signed Date: 19 October 1782 Pagination: 2 p. : address : docket ; 23.4 x 17.9 cm.

Summary of Content: Declares that he is convinced of Knox's desire to help old and infirm soldiers (he is a colonel in the Invalid regiment). Writes, "I find by experience I have over rated my abilities in undertaking to remove boards from here to the Point; my horses are so weak they would not be able to hall any quantity of a long time, and I have been obliged to pay a dollar a load for a two horse waggon, an expense my purse will not bear, besides this & the removal of my furniture & I have a considerable quantity of vegetables, raised for a winter store, which I cannot afford to leave behind or take with me, these reasons compel me, however disagreable, to continue my family here this winter, & flatter myself I shall be indulged with permission to continue with them as long as may be consistent with my duty, which I would not neglect." Writes that per Knox's last letter, he expects his regiment will be stationed at [Constitution] Island, which he thinks will suit them and hopes some quarters for him will be erected there in the spring. Finally, explains he would have paid his compliments to Knox this week but bad health and weather have prevented it: after riding 3 1/2 miles yesterday for business, he "got such violent pains in my loins I was incapable of raising myself erect the remainder of the day." See GLC02437.01666 for a related document.

People: Knox, Henry, 1750-1806
Nicola, Lewis, 1717-1807

Historical Era: American Revolution, 1763-1783

Subjects: Revolutionary WarRevolutionary War GeneralImmigration and MigrationContinental ArmyBuilding ConstructionMilitary HistoryMilitary CampMilitary SuppliesTransportationFinanceHealth and MedicalHome FurnishingsDiet and nutritionChildren and FamilyHealth and MedicalAgriculture and Animal Husbandry

Sub Era: The War for Independence

Order a Copy Citation Guidelines for Online Resources